Hearing on Energy Efficiency Legislation

April 30, 2015
10:00 AM

The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee will hold a hearing to receive testimony on energy efficiency legislation. 

  • S. 523 (Collins), a bill to coordinate the provision of energy retrofitting assistance to schools. 
  • S. 600 (Klobuchar), a bill to require the Secretary of Energy to establish an energy efficiency retrofit pilot program.
  • S. 703 (Coons), the Weatherization Enhancement and Local Energy Efficiency Investment and Accountability Act.
  • S. 720 (Portman), the Energy Savings and Industrial Competitiveness Act of 2015.
  • S. 723 (Schatz), the Utility Energy Service Contracts Improvement Act of 2015.
  • S. 858 (Gardner), the Energy Savings Through Public-Private Partnerships Act of 2015.
  • S. 869 (Hoeven), the All-of-the-Above Federal Building Energy Conservation Act of 2015.
  • S. 878 (Sanders), a bill to establish a State residential building energy efficiency upgrades loan pilot program.
  • S. 886 (Udall), the Smart Energy and Water Efficiency Act of 2015.
  • S. 888 (Schatz), the PREPARE Act. 
  • S. 893 (Warner), the EPIC Act of 2015.
  • S. 939 (Flake), a bill to require the evaluation and consolidation of duplicative green building programs within the Department of Energy.
  • S. 1029 (Hoeven), a bill to amend the Energy Policy and Conservation Act to prohibit the Secretary of Energy from prescribing a final rule amending the efficiency standards for residential non-weatherized gas furnaces or mobile home furnaces until an analysis has been completed, and for other purposes.
  • S. 1038 (Risch), a bill to clarify that no express or implied warranty is provided by reason of a disclosure relating to voluntary participation in the Energy Star program, and for other purposes.
  • S. 1039 (Risch), a bill to require certain agencies to conduct assessments of data centers and develop data center consolidation and optimization plans to achieve energy cost savings.
  • S. 1044 (Markey), a bill to enhance consumer access to electricity information and allow for the adoption of innovative products and services to help consumers manage their energy usage.
  • S. 1046 (Cantwell), a bill to accelerate the adoption of smart building technologies in the private sector and key Federal agencies.
  • S. 1047 (Alexander), a bill to require the Secretary of Energy to review rulemaking proceedings of other Federal agencies for the potential to cause an adverse effect on the cost, time, or difficulty of complying with energy efficiency regulations, guidelines, or standards.
  • S. 1048 (Alexander), a bill to remove the authority of the Secretary of Energy to amend or issue new energy efficiency standards for ceiling fans.
  • S. 1052 (Franken), a bill to require a study on the impact of State and local performance benchmarking and disclosure policies for commercial and multifamily buildings, to provide for competitive awards to utilities, States, and units of local government, and for other purposes.
  • S. 1053 (Franken), a bill to amend the National Energy Conservation Policy Act to promote alternative fueled vehicle fleets and infrastructure.
  • S. 1063 (Franken), the American Energy Efficiency Act. 

The hearing will take place on April 30, at 10 a.m. in room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

  • Mr. Gene Therriault

    Vice-Chairman, National Association of State Energy Officials
    Deputy Director - Energy Policy and Outreach, Alaska Energy Authority

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska)

    Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee
  • Ranking Member Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.)

Witness Panel 1

  • The Honorable Susan Collins

    U.S. Senator
  • The Honorable Amy Klobuchar

    U.S. Senator
  • The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen

    U.S. Senator
  • The Honorable Chris Coons

    U.S. Senator
  • The Honorable Brian Schatz

    U.S. Senator

Witness Panel 2

  • Dr. Kathleen B. Hogan

    Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency
    U.S. Department of Energy Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy,
  • Mr. Tony Crasi

    On behalf of the National Association of Home Builders
    Owner and Founder The Crasi Company, Inc.
  • Dr. Ted Gayer

    Vice President and Director of Economic Studies
    Joseph A. Pechman Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution
  • Mr. Steven M. Nadel

    Executive Director
    American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy
  • Mr. Gene Therriault

    Vice-Chairman, National Association of State Energy Officials
    Deputy Director - Energy Policy and Outreach, Alaska Energy Authority