Full Committee Hearing on Transportation Technologies

March 16, 2021
09:30 AM
SD-366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The hearing will be held on Tuesday, March 16, 2021, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

The purpose of the hearing is to examine ways to strengthen research and development in innovative transportation technologies with a focus on solutions that decrease emissions, reduce our reliance on foreign supply chains, and increase manufacturing in the United States. 

Members of the committee may participate in person or online. The Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room. Pursuant to this guidance, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing.

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Joe Manchin

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. John Barrasso

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • Ms. Kelly Speakes-Backman

    Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary & Acting Assistant Secretary
    Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Mr. Edmund Adam Muellerweiss

    Chief Sustainability Officer
  • Mr. Janvier Désiré Nkurunziza

    Officer-in-Charge, Commodities Branch and Chief
    Commodity Research and Analysis Section Division on International Trade and Commodities, United Nations Conference on Trade & Development
  • Mr. Tony Satterthwaite

    Vice Chairman
  • Mr. Robert Wimmer

    Energy and Environmental Research Group, Toyota Motor North America