Full Committee Hearing On The Reliability, Resiliency, And Affordability Of Electric Service

March 11, 2021
10:00 AM
SD-106 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The hearing will be held on Thursday, March 11, 2021, at 10:00 am in Room SD-106 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

The purpose of the hearing is to examine the reliability, resiliency, and affordability of electric service in the United States amid the changing energy mix and extreme weather events.

Members of the committee may participate in person or online. The Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room. Pursuant to this guidance, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing. 

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Joe Manchin

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. John Barrasso

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • Mr. James R. Robb

    President and Chief Executive Officer
    North American Electric Reliability Corporation
  • Mr. Mark A. Gabriel

    Administrator and Chief Executive Officer
    Western Area Power Administration
  • The Honorable Pat Wood III

    Chief Executive Officer, Hunt Energy Network
    Former Chairman, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Mr. Michael Shellenberger

    Founder and President
    Environmental Progress
  • Mr. Manu Asthana

    President and Chief Executive Officer
    PJM Interconnection