Full Committee Hearing on Offshore Energy Technologies

September 22, 2020
10:15 AM
366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Please Note:  Today’s hearing will begin at 10:15 a.m. instead of 10:00 a.m. as previously noticed.

The hearing will be held on Tuesday, September 22, 2020, at 10:15 am EDT in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

The purpose of the hearing is to examine emerging offshore and marine energy technologies in the United States, including offshore wind, marine and hydrokinetic energy, and alternative fuels for maritime shipping. 

Members of the committee may participate in person or online. The Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room. Pursuant to this guidance, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing.

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. Joe Manchin

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • The Honorable Daniel R. Simmons

    Assistant Secretary for the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
    U.S. Department of Energy
  • Dr. Walter Cruickshank

    Acting Director, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
    U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Mr. Stuart Davies

    Chief Executive Officer
    Ocean Renewable Power Company, Inc.
  • Ms. Siri Espedal Kindem

    President and CEO
    Equinor Wind US
  • Mr. Jonathan Lewis

    Senior Counsel
    Clean Air Task Force