Full Committee Hearing to Examine the Department of the Interior’s Final List of Critical Minerals

July 17, 2018
10:00 AM
366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The hearing will be held on Tuesday, July 17, 2018, at 10:00 a.m. EDT in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

The purpose of the hearing is to examine the Department of the Interior’s final list of critical minerals for 2018 and opportunities to strengthen the United States’ mineral security.   

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. Maria Cantwell

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • Dr. Steven Fortier

    Director, National Minerals Information Center
    U.S. Geological Survey, U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Dr. Roderick Eggert

    Viola Vestal Coulter Foundation Chair in Mineral Economics. Division of Economics and Business, Colorado School of Mines
    Deputy Director, Critical Materials Institute
  • Mr. Greg Gregory

    Materion Natural Resources, Inc.
  • Mr. Aaron Mintzes

    Senior Policy Counsel
  • Ms. Laurel Sayer

    President & CEO
    Midas Gold Idaho
  • Mr. Jim Sims

    Vice President, External Affairs
    NioCorp Developments Ltd.