Subcommittee on Water and Power Legislative Hearing

June 18, 2015
02:00 PM
366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

Subcommittee on Water and Power will hold a legislative hearing on:

  • S. 593 (Barrasso), the Bureau of Reclamation Transparency Act
  • S. 982 (Barrasso), the Water Rights Protection Act
  • S. 1305 (Barrasso), A bill to amend the Colorado River Storage Act to authorize the use of the active capacity of the Fontenelle Reservoir
  • S. 1365 (Tester & Daines), a bill to authorize the Secretary of Interior to use designated funding to pay for construction of authorized rural water projects
  • S. 1291 (Fischer), to authorize early repayment of obligations to the Bureau of Reclamation within the Northport Irrigation District in the State of Nebraska
  • S 1552 (Daines), to authorize construction of the Dry Red Water Rural Water and Musselshell Rural Water Projects
  • S 1533 (Barrasso), to authorize the Secretary of the Interior to coordinate Federal and State permitting processes related to the construction of new surface water storage projects on lands under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of the Interior and the Secretary of Agriculture and to designate the Bureau of Reclamation as the lead agency for permit processing, and for other purposes

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)

Witness Panel 1

  • Ms. Dionne Thompson

    Deputy Commissioner for External and Intergovernmental Affairs
    Bureau of Reclamation, U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Mr. Jerry Meissner

    Dry-Redwater Regional Water Authority
  • Mr. Adam Schempp

    Director, Western Water Program
    Environmental Law Institute
  • Mr. Charles Stern

    Natural Resources Policy Specialist
    Congressional Research Service, Library of Congress
  • Mr. Tony Willardson

    Executive Director
    Western States Water Council
  • Mr. Ryan Yates

    Congressional Relations Director
    American Farm Bureau Federation