Energy Committee Sends Secretary Of Energy Nominee To Senate Floor With Bipartisan Vote

Manchin votes to confirm Granholm to be Secretary of Energy

February 3, 2021

Washington, DC – Today, the U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee held a business meeting to consider the pending nomination of Governor Jennifer Granholm to be the Secretary of Energy. She passed out of committee by a recorded vote of 13-4. Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV), incoming Chairman of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, voted to support Governor Granholm’s nomination. Governor Granholm previously committed to Senator Manchin that DOE will prioritize investments in states that have lost traditional energy jobs.

“As I said at Governor Granholm’s hearing last week, I believe she is extremely well qualified to lead the Department of Energy and I strongly support her nomination. She has the leadership skills, the vision, and the compassion for people that we need at the helm of the Department of Energy to face the climate challenge, and at the same time, preserve our energy security, protect our national security, cleanup the Cold War legacy, and preserve our scientific and technological prowess. I am pleased to support her nomination, and I urge all my colleagues to join me in voting to report her nomination,” Senator Manchin said.