Committee Advances Two Nominations

December 12, 2017

The Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources today held a business meeting to advance two of President Trump’s nominees for the Department of the Interior (DOI) and the Department of Energy (DOE) to the Senate floor:

  • Dr. Tim Petty to be Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Water and Science; and

  • Dr. Linda Capuano to be Administrator of the Energy Information Administration.  

The committee favorably reported both Petty, who completed his doctorate at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Capuano by voice vote. Murkowski supported both nominations.

The Energy and Natural Resources Committee has now favorably reported a total of 20 nominees this year. Five of those nominees, including the nominees reported today, await confirmation by the full Senate.

Murkowski is chairman of the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.