The Week Ahead (April 30-May 4)

April 27, 2007
05:05 PM
  • The Subcommittee on Energy hearing that was scheduled for Tuesday, May 1, has been postponed.

  • On Wednesday, May 2, the full committee will mark up an original bill, with text drawn from pending energy legislation: S.987 on biofuels and transportation; and S. 1115 on energy efficiency; and S.731 and S.962 on carbon capture and storage.  The meeting will adjourn at noon and reconvene at 2:30 p.m., if necessary.  (Dirksen 366, 10:00 a.m.)

  • On Thursday, May 3, the Subcommittee on Water and Power will receive testimony on S.27, a bill to authorize the implementation of the San Joaquin River Restoration Settlement.  Witnesses include Mark Limbaugh, Department of the Interior; Daniel Dooley, Friant Water Users Authority; P. Joseph Grindstaff, California Bay-Delta Authority; Kenneth Robbins, Merced Irrigation District; Hamilton Candee, Natural Resources Defense Council; Steve Chedester, San Joaquin River Exchange Contractors Water Authority; and Allen Ishida, Tulare County Board of Supervisors.  (Dirksen 366, 10:00 a.m.)

  •  On Thursday, May 3, the Subcommittee on Public Lands and Forests will receive testimony on S.205/H.R. 865, to grant rights-of-way for electric transmission lines over certain Native allotments in Alaska; S.390, to direct the exchange of certain land in Grand, San Juan and Uintah Counties, Utah; S.647, to designate certain land in Oregon as wilderness; S.1139, to establish the National Landscape Conservation System; H.R. 276, to designate the Piedras Blancas Light Station and the surrounding public land as an Outstanding Natural Area to be administered as a part of the National Landscape Conservation System; and H.R. 356, to remove certain restrictions on the Mammoth (Calif.) Community Water District's ability to use certain property acquired by that district from the United States.  Witnesses include Mark Rey, Department of Agriculture; Jim Hughes, Bureau of Land Management; John Sterling, Outdoor Industry Conservation Alliance; Ron Suppah, The Confederate Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation of Oregon; Richard Moe, National Trust for Historic Preservation; Martha Schrader, Clackamas (Ore.) Board of Commissioners; Kevin Carter, Utah School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration; and Ty Cobb, Grand Canyon Trust.  (Dirksen 366, 2:30 p.m.)
# # #