July 27, 2000
12:00 AM
WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Senate confirmed Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus as the Department of Energy’s Director of the Office of Science by unanimous consent late Wednesday night. A native New Yorker, Dresselhaus studied at both Cambridge University, as well as Harvard before receiving her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. Dresselhaus has been a member of the faculty at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology since 1967 and was named an Institute Professor in the Department of Physics in 1985. Dresselhaus’ nomination was reported out of the Committee unanimously on May 24, 2000. Dr. Dresselhaus brings numerous awards to her position as Director of the Office of Science, including the National Medal of Science and 17 honorary doctorates, and has authored several books on carbon science. Her research interests include experimental solid state physics, particularly in carbon related materials and their intercalation compounds, and low dimensional thermoelectrics. She is a member of several distinguished scientific organizations including the National Academy of Sciences, and the National Academy of Engineering. She has served as President of the American Physical Society and the American Association of the Advancement of Science, and as Treasurer of the National Academy of Sciences. Dresselhaus also served seven years on DOE’s Energy Research Advisory Board, was on the Argonne National Laboratory’s Board of Governors for three years, and was a consultant to the Directorate for Chemistry and Material Science at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. ###