Democratic News

U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) today welcomed four new Democratic Senators to the United States Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee.
The four new committee members include two members who previously served on the committee -- Sen. Evan Bayh (D-IN) and Sen. Blanche Lincoln (D-AR).  Also, Sen. Bingaman welcomed two newly elected members of the Senate that will be joining the committee -- Bernie Sanders (I-VT) and John Tester (D-MT).
Sen. Bingaman also thanked Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) and Sen. Bob Menendez (D-NJ) for their service and contributions to the committee. “I am sad to see Sen. Feinstein leave the committee because of her many good ideas concerning energy policy and public lands.  I know she will continue to do a great job representing the citizens of California in her new role as Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration. Though his time on the committee was short, Sen. Menendez was a valuable addition to the committee and I wish him well,” Sen. Bingaman said.
“I am looking forward to working with the Democrats joining the Energy and Natural Resources Committee. They will bring a great deal of experience and knowledge to the panel,” Sen. Bingaman added.
Senator Bingaman will be the incoming Chairman of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee and underscored the importance of a bi-partisan approach to legislation in the 110th Congress. “I am looking forward to the new Congress and continuing the spirit of bi-partisanship with my colleague, Senator Pete Domenici (R-NM),” Sen. Bingaman stated.
Sen. Bingaman also indicated his willingness to create legislation aimed at reducing our dependence on fossil fuels by increasing energy efficiency and promoting renewable technologies. “It is imperative that Congress address our energy future. Our dangerous addiction to foreign oil, need to restructure our energy system to avoid the harmful potential of global warming, and rising gas prices will be issues that both sides of the aisle will desire to take up,” Sen. Bingaman stated.
Energy and Natural Resources Committee Democrats for the 110th Congress:
Jeff Bingaman, New Mexico, Chairman
Daniel Akaka, Hawaii
Byron Dorgan, North Dakota
Ron Wyden, Oregon
Tim Johnson, South Dakota
Mary Landrieu, Louisiana
Maria Cantwell, Washington
Ken Salazar, Colorado
Evan Bayh, Indiana
Blanche Lincoln, Arkansas
Bernie Sanders, Vermont
John Tester, Montana