Democratic News

On Thursday, May 10, the full committee will consider S. 2374, the Helium Stewardship Act of 2012.  Witnesses include Timothy Spisak, deputy assistant director of Minerals and Realty Management, Bureau of Land Management; Dr. Moses Chan, Evan Pugh Professor, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA; Walter Nelson, director of helium sourcing and supply chain, Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., Allentown, PA; David Joyner, president, Air Liquide Helium America, Inc., Houston, TX; and Tom Rauch, Global Sourcing Manager Services and Aftermarket Solutions, GE Healthcare, Waukesha, WA.  (Dirksen 366 at 9:30 a.m.)

Bonus …

The National Park Trust (NPT) is honoring Chairman Bingaman next month with its 2012 Bruce F. Vento Public Service Award, for his “outstanding record in park preservation and environmental stewardship.”  The NPT established the award in 2000 to memorialize the legacy of Bruce F. Vento, a 12-term Congressman from Minnesota.  It honors recipients for their service, skill and innovation in support of America’s public lands. Recent recipients include Sen. Susan Collins, Sen. Mark Udall, Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sen. Harry Reid, Congressman George Miller and Sen. John McCain.

 #          #          #

For more information, please contact

Bill Wicker at 202.224.5243


or Rosemarie Calabro at 202.224.5039


Follow us on Twitter - @SenateEnergy