Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20515

February 17, 2017

Mick Mulvaney Director Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

Dear Director Mulvaney:

As the Office of Management and Budget begins its work to set priorities for fiscal year 2018 and write the President's budget request, we strongly encourage you to support adequate funding for the Secure Rural Schools and Self-Determination (SRS) program. SRS payments provide critical revenues to more than 775 rural counties and 4,400 schools throughout the country, impacting nine million students across 41 states. In many cases, these "forest counties" include massive swaths of public lands, particularly National Forest System lands, often consuming 65 to 90 percent of total land within their boundaries.

Nearly 100 years ago, recognizing the key support these counties provide to our national forests, Congress passed legislation to specify that 25 percent of revenues from timber harvests on federal lands would be shared with affected counties for "the benefit of the public schools and public roads in county or counties in which national forests are situated." Though helpful, massive reductions in timber production on federal forests over the last 30 years have dropped revenues by as much as 99 percent in some counties and over 70 percent nationwide.

SRS was first enacted in 2000 to renew this 100-year-old revenue sharing promise in light of significant losses faced by forest counties as timber revenues declined. This promise is as relevant today as ever given these counties are still expected to provide essential services on their public lands. SRS expired on September 30, 2015, and it has not been reauthorized for FY16 or beyond. Forest counties and schools received their last authorized SRS payment in March 2016. Without SRS, existing revenue sharing payments are not sufficient to support the services these counties must provide, and counties are forced to choose between critical services for their citizens.

Prevailing uncertainties about SRS make it nearly impossible for local governments to plan their annual budgets. The federal government has long recognized its obligation to these forest counties, and we are committed to working in Congress to provide these counties the resources they need to serve their populations. We ask that you do all that you can in FY18 and into the future to work with us in this effort.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Orrin Hatch U.S. Senator

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Member of Congress

Sincerely,

Ron Wyden U.S. Senator

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

un's Te Dianne Feinstein

ve

Tom Udall U.S. Senator

Cory Gardner U.S. Senator

U.S. Senator

Mike Capo

U.S. Senator

ester Jon Senator

Michael F. Bennet U.S. Senator

Amy Kobucher U.S. Senator

ulle bu

Dan Sullivan U.S. Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley U.S. Senator

Al Franken U.S. Senator

Claire McCaskill U.S. Senator

Steve Daines

U.S. Senator

sch James E. Risch US. Senator

soe Manchin III U.S. Senator

now Debbie Stabeno

U.S. Senator

Maria Cantwell U.S. Senator

Martin Heinrich

U.S. Senator

Roger F. Wicker U.S. Senator

Dean Heller U.S. Senator

Gary C Peters

U.S. Senator

Tammy Baldwin U.S. Senator

Peter DeFazio Member of Congress

Stevan Pearce

Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Ralph Lee Abraham Member of Congress

Mina Tath Patty Murray

U.S. Senator

arey, gr. Robert P. Casey, Jr.

U.S. Senator

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S.

Member of Congress

Brian Babin

Member of Congress

Bentler Jaime Herrera Beutler

Member of Congress

C

Chris Stewart Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Marthy McS

Martha McSally Member of Congress

Kevin Brady Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran

Member of Congress

NONO

Kyrsten Sinema Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

rove

Mia B. Love Member of Congress

Glenn Thompson

Member of Congress

Jared Polis Member of Congress

Milu

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

abrador

Raúl R. Labrador Member of Congress

Inta

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Mike Simpson

Member of Congress

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

len laws

Evan H. Jenkins Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene

Member of Congress

Morgan (Member of Con

Doug Lamborn

Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman

Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Archelle

Michelle Lujan Grisham Member of Congress

2 D.Alor E

Robert Aderholt Member of Congress

Steve Stivers Member of Congress

n=n Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Tom Reed Member of Congress

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

auluer

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Scott Tipton Member of Congress

Richard M. Nolan Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, DVM

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Dave Reichert

Member of Congress

Steven Palazzo

Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress Al Green Member of Congress

10 Men

Kristi Noem Member of Congress

. jalua an Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

m Markova

Lisa Murkowski U.S. Senator

1 0 a Kamala Harris J.S. Senator