Hearing to Examine the Role of the DOE and Energy Innovation in American Economic Competitiveness

April 15, 2021
10:00 AM
SD-366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The hearing will be held on Thursday, April 15, 2021, at 10:00 am in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC. 

The purpose of the hearing is to examine the leading role of the Department of Energy in American energy innovation and how its research, development, demonstration, and deployment programs may be enhanced to further boost the economic competitiveness of the United States.  

Members of the committee may participate in person or online. The Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room. Pursuant to this guidance, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing.

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing. 

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Joe Manchin

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. John Barrasso

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • Dr. Thomas Mason

    Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • The Honorable Paul M. Dabbar

    Chairman and CEO, Bohr Quantum Technologies Corp.
    Former Under Secretary for Science, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Ms. Sarah Ladislaw

    Managing Director of the U.S. Program
  • Dr. Lara Pierpoint

    Director, Climate