Full Committee Hearing on Nuclear Energy

March 25, 2021
09:45 AM
SD-366 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The hearing will be held on Thursday, March 25, 2021, at 9:45 a.m. in Room 366 of the Dirksen Senate Office Building in Washington, DC.

The purpose of the hearing is to examine the latest developments in the nuclear energy sector with a focus on ways to maintain and expand the use of nuclear energy in the United States and abroad. 

Members of the committee may participate in person or online. The Committee will follow guidelines developed in consultation with the Office of the Attending Physician and the Senate Rules Committee to protect the health of members, staff, and the public. This includes maintaining six-foot social distance spacing in the hearing room. Pursuant to this guidance, Senate office buildings are not open to the public other than official business visitors and credentialed press at this time. Accordingly, in-person visitors cannot be accommodated at this hearing.

The hearing will be webcast live on the committee’s website, and an archived video will be available shortly after the hearing concludes. Witness testimony will be available on the website at the start of the hearing.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Opening Remarks

  • Sen. Joe Manchin

    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
  • Sen. John Barrasso

    Ranking Member
    Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources

Witness Panel 1

  • Mr. Jeffrey J. Lyash

    President & Chief Executive Officer
    Tennessee Valley Authority
  • Mr. Chris Levesque

    President & CEO
  • Mr. Scott Melbye

    President, Uranium Producers of America
    Executive Vice President, Uranium Energy Corporation
  • Ms. Amy Roma

    Founding Member, Atlantic Council’s Nuclear Energy and National Security Coalition
    Partner, Hogan Lovells
  • Mr. J. Clay Sell

    Chief Executive Officer