National Parks Subcommittee Hearing

June 22, 2006
02:30 PM
SD-366 Energy Committee Hearing Room
The purpose of the hearing is to receive testimony on the following bills: S. 574, a bill to amend the Quinebaug and Shetucket Rivers Valley National Heritage Corridor Act of 1994 to increase the authorization of appropriations and modify the date on which the authority of the Secretary of the Interior terminates under the Act; S. 1387, a bill to provide for an update of the Cultural Heritage and Land Management Plan for the John H. Chafee Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor, to extend the authority of the John H. Chafee Blackstone River Valley National Heritage Corridor Commission, to authorize the undertaking of a special resource study of sites and landscape features within the Corridor, and to authorize additional appropriations for the Corridor; S. 1721, a bill to amend the Omnibus Parks and Public Lands Management Act of 1996 to extend the authorization for certain national heritage areas, and for other purposes; S. 2037, a bill to establish the Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area in the State of Colorado, and for other purposes; and S. 2645, a bill to establish the Journey Through Hallowed Ground National Heritage Area, and for other purposes.

Archived Webcast

If you are having trouble viewing this hearing, please try the following steps:
  1. Clear your browser's cache - Guide to clearing browser cache
  2. Close and re-open your browser
  3. If the above two steps do not help, please try another browser. Internet Explorer or Microsoft Edge have the highest level of compatibility with our player.

Witness Panel 1

  • Mr. Donald Murphy

    Deputy Director
    National Park Service

Witness Panel 2

  • Mr. Dan Rice

    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Ohio and Erie Canal Way Coalition
  • Ms. Charlene Cutler

    Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
    Quinebaug-Shetucket Heritage Corridor, Inc.
  • Dr. W. Michael Sullivan

    Rhode Island Department of Envrionmental Management
  • Ms. Ann Marie Velasquez

    Sangre de Cristo National Heritage Area Board of Directors
  • Ms. Cate Magennis Wyatt

    The Journey Through Hallowed Ground