Committee Passes Energy, Interior Nominations

December 17, 2013
12:30 PM

Washington, D.C. – The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee today favorably reported two nominees to fill positions at the Department of Energy and one nominee to the Department of the Interior.

Committee Chairman Ron Wyden, D-Ore., expressed his support for all three nominees.

“I believe all three of these nominees are highly qualified for the positions to which they’ve been nominated, based on their education, training and experience,” Wyden said.

The committee passed the following nominations:

  • Steven P. Croley to be the General Counsel of the Department of Energy
  • Christopher A. Smith to be an Assistant Secretary of Energy (for Fossil Energy)
  • Esther P. Kia’aina to be an Assistant Secretary of the Interior (for Insular Areas)

The nominations were agreed to by a voice vote and now go to the full Senate. Senator Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich., asked to be recorded as voting against the Smith nomination.