Senators unanimously approve all by voice vote

January 26, 2005
12:00 AM
Washington, D.C. – Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee members today unanimously approved the nomination of Samuel W. Bodman to be Secretary of the Department of Energy. The senators also approved subcommittee assignments and the committee’s budget for the 109th Congress. The senators voted by voice vote during a business meeting held at 9:30 a.m. in SD-366. Chairman Domenici’s statement: “Mr. Bodman will make an excellent Secretary of Energy. His education, business experience and previous leadership service at Commerce and Treasury will be a tremendous asset to the Department of Energy. I will ask Senate leadership to swiftly schedule a full Senate vote on his nomination. I look forward to working closely with Mr. Bodman to deliver energy legislation to the President this Congress.” The subcommittee assignments are as follows: ENERGY Republicans: Alexander - Chairman Burr - Vice Chairman Martinez Talent Allen Bunning Murkowski Craig Thomas Burns Democrats: Dorgan - Ranking Akaka Johnson Landrieu Feinstein Cantwell Corzine Salazar PUBLIC LANDS & FORESTS Republicans: Craig - Chairman Burns- Vice Chairman Thomas Talent Smith Alexander Murkowski Allen Democrats: Wyden - Ranking Akaka Dorgan Johnson Landrieu Feinstein Cantwell NATIONAL PARKS Republicans: Thomas - Chairman Alexander - Vice Chairman Allen Burr Martinez Smith Democrats: Akaka - Ranking Wyden Landrieu Corzine Salazar WATER & POWER Republicans: Murkowski– Chairman Smith- Vice Chairman Craig Burr Martinez Burns Bunning Talent Democrats: Johnson - Ranking Dorgan Wyden Feinstein Cantwell Corzine Salazar